Cllr Bassam Mahfouz wins Ealing and Hillingdon London Assembly seat for Labour

Image: Sadiq Khan (L) with Bassam Mahfouz

Labour win Ealing & Hillingdon Assembly seat, though more people voted for Conservative candidate Susan Hall for Mayor than voted for Sadiq Khan

Ealing councillor Bassam Mahfouz has won the Ealing and Hillingdon consituency seat on the London Assembly. The Ealing Labour councillor won the seat with 72,356 votes. Conservative candidate Henry Higgins came second with 67,495 votes, while Green Party candidate Jess Lee came third with 22,974 votes.

Liberal Democrat candidate Kuldev received 15,293 votes, while Anthony Goodwin from Reform UK came last with 15,247 votes.

The voter turnout in Ealing and Hillingdon was 42.91%.

Bassam Mahfouz, who grew up in Ealing, has been a councillor for almost 20 years. He runs a refugee charity and says both in his role as councillor and in his day job he has seen the effects of 14 years of austerity from a Conservative government. “People are hurting” he says. For the past three years he has been a Cabinet member on Ealing Council.

Labour’s Sadiq Khan wins third term as Mayor of London

Sadiq Khan has been declared Mayor of London for a third term. Both the Conservative party and Labour party had described the contest, a two horse race between them, as ‘close’.

Conservative Candidate Susan Hall said yesterday she expected to win, then a couple of hours ago Labour started claiming victory. In the event, the Labour Mayor was re-elected with 61.2% of the vote. Turnout across London averaged 40.5% according to London Elects, 1.5% down from the last mayoral election in 2021.

In Ealing and Hillingdon Susan Hall won the mayoral vote. The Conservative candidate polled 75,396 votes compared to Labour’s Sadiq Kahn 74,257.

Green Party candidate Zoe Garrett came third with 10,508 votes while LibDem Rob Blackie came fourth with 10,124 votes.

Read more stories on The Chiswick Calendar