The park is open daily from 7.00am – dusk.
The museum is closed
The original Gunnersbury House was built by Sir John Maynard, a lawyer and politician during the time of Oliver Cromwell. In the 18th century Princess Amelia, daughter of George II, used it as her summer home. After her death the original house was pulled down and replaced by two mansions. Both were bought by the Rothschild family in the 19th century and purchased for the nation in 1926. See Friends of Gunnersbury Park & Museum website for more about the history. The stunning gardens include the original Georgian temple folly, a boating lake and an Orangery as well as the more modern additions of tennis courts and bowls club.
Gunnersbury is jointly owned by Hounslow and Ealing councils. In 2014 they were awarded two grants by the Heritage Lottery Fund to overhaul the house and make major improvements to the park. The house was closed for a while and after a £26m refurbishment programme it reopened as a museum in 2018. The museum and gardens are now run by a not-for-profit company Gunnersbury CIC on behalf of both councils.
View more photographs of Gunnersbury Park on our feature about the park in the ‘This Is Chiswick’ section of the website.
See also our feature on Gunnersbury Museum in the ‘This Is Chiswick’ section of the website.