Gunnersbury Park, Popes Lane, London W3 8LQ. The park is open daily from 8.00am – dusk.
The original Gunnersbury House was built by Sir John Maynard, a lawyer and politician during the time of Oliver Cromwell. In the 18th century Princess Amelia, daughter of George II, used it as her summer home. After her death the original house was pulled down and replaced by two mansions. Both were bought by the Rothschild family in the 19th century and purchased for the nation in 1926. See Friends of Gunnersbury Park & Museum website for more about the history.
The house was extensively renovated and reopened in the summer of 2018 with new art and artefacts on show and exhibitions designed to explain Georgian life and the history of west London to children. The museum runs a continuous programme of tours and talks for adults and activities for children of all ages.
The stunning gardens include the original Georgian temple folly, a boating lake and an Orangery as well as the more modern additions of tennis courts and bowls club. Gunnersbury is jointly owned and run by Hounslow and Ealing council. In 2014 the councils were awarded two grants by the Heritage Lottery Fund to overhaul the museum and make major improvements to the park.
There’s always something happening in the park, from the Park Run every Saturday at 9.00am to poetry and theatre performances, nature walks, history talks and pumpkin carving in October. In previous years the park has been home to Europe’s biggest festival of South Asian culture, the London Mela which takes place in early September. In 2018 the park hosted the Lovebox and Citadel festivals and are due to do so again in the summer of 2019.
Entrance to the Park is free